DiveQuest at Disney’s Epcot

I’m 27 years old and I’ve never been to a Disney park. Except this one time I worked an event on the Disney World property for something entirely unrelated to going to a magical theme park.

And I still haven’t visited the actual Disney part of Disney BUT!

I have now crossed another one off my bucket list. I dove the aquarium at Epcot. I was invited by my friend Eddie of Woods and Water in Brandon, FL.

And it was f&*$ing cool.

 

epcot ball

 

You start off with a tour guide showing you around the facility and the massive filtration system, learning about how they manage to keep all that pretty water so clear of fish poop. Then comes the actual dive experience. They have four dive masters in the water with you; one of them has the sole job of catching you on video. Make friends with him. And have fun with it. You’ll appreciate it when you watch the video later.

You are provided a locker to hold your belongings, and when you’re ready to get in, your gear is sitting on the edge waiting for you. They have a streamlined process of getting everyone in and comfortable.

epcot-michelle

I almost feel like they planned this.

As I was putting on my fins – a freaking turtle swam across our feet and it touched me and now I know what dinosaurs would feel like.

The first few minutes of the dive are a guided tour. Then you’re allowed to explore on your own. One of the best things you can do is dump the air from your BC, sit on the bottom, and control your breath. All sorts of critters will come check you out.

A sand tiger shark got so close to me I could have reached out and touched it except I was a little terrified and I didn’t want to get kicked out.

When you finish the dive, you can take a hot shower with the Disney-provided shampoo, conditioner, and soap, and they also have a couple of hair dryers for you to use. You’ll all sit around together and watch the video. The DVD goes for $35. There was also free hot chocolate.

They even give you your stats for your log, including the animal species that are in the tank.

Max Depth: 25 ft

Water Temp: 78° F

Dive Time: 40 minutes

Species included: Sand tiger sharks, brown/sandbar sharks, blackness sharks, southern stingrays, cow nose stingrays, guitarfish, loggerhead sea turtle, black botch rays, honey comb rays, porcupine ray, leopard rays, cowtail ray, bonnet head sharks, and a zebra shark.

 

Trip Details

Cost: $179

Includes:

All equipment for the dive experience. Your personal gear is not allowed in the tank, except for your mask. Even defog and towels are provided. Other than that, you only need a swim suit.

They literally even had hair bands. NOTE that metal is not allowed in the tank. So this includes hair clips, which made for some great bangs in the video.

Disney provides a shorty-style wetsuit. I will tell you, they say the water is warm. And it’s kind of really not. I tend to be cold so maybe I’m not the best person to make that call. But if you are cold-natured, you’re going to be cold. We asked about full wetsuits and it seemed like it was a huge inconvenience to get them. But next time I’m going to see if they’ll do it.

Not included:

Parking ($20)

Admission to the park prior to the dive event *You are not required to buy a ticket to Epcot if you do not want to visit the park. The one-day pass was something like $105.

 

About Epcot DiveQuest

Epcot DiveQuest allows scuba divers to explore inside the 5.7-million-gallon saltwater tank at the Seas with Nemo & Friends Pavilion in Disney’s Epcot theme park. The tank contains over 6,000 sea creatures representing over 60 species. I saw the cutest tiniest little bonnet head. ❤

You must provide your SCUBA cert card and must be 10 years of age or older (ages 10-14 require an adult to join them).

 The whole thing lasts about 3 hours, including a behind-the-scenes tour and a 40-minute dive in the massive Caribbean Coral Reef aquarium—which until 2005 was the largest saltwater tank in the world (now the Georgia aquarium holds the title).

 The water in the aquarium is crystal clear and there is no current. You’ll swim closer to sharks than you’d probably ever be comfortable doing in the wild.

Have you ever participated in DiveQuest?

All the proceeds from Epcot’s “DiveQuest” are donated to the Disney Wildlife Conservation Fund.

2 thoughts on “DiveQuest at Disney’s Epcot

  1. Looks like a lot of fun! I have always wondered what the aquarium dives are like, but I usually go for the open water dives instead.
    PS as cold natured as you are its a good thing you live in FL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can understand that! It was really neat to be so close to animals I have not seen in the wild yet – the sharks, in particular!

      And yes I agree! I am definitely made for the sun 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

