PADI Rescue Diver Course

Diver Stress and Rescue with SCUBA Schools International

I was Open Water certified through PADI in 2012. Since then I’ve completed various specialty courses. Some of them weren’t actually worth completing. But some, like NITROX and PADI Rescue Diver, were paramount to continuing my diving career. Since then I’ve continued by training with SSI, or SCUBA Schools International, which is just a different certification agency. There are politics behind the differing agencies but overall, PADI, SSI, and NAUI are the most common and most recognized agencies. They’ll all get you trained and in the water.

SSI’s version of the Rescue Diver course is called Diver Stress and Rescue. Both courses have the same goal: to prepare the diver to handle stressful situations, to recognize and solve problems when they arise, and how to avoid them in the first place.

The course begins by explaining how to identify, manage, and prevent stress. It moves on into Accident Management, teaching the student the skills needed to deal with panicked divers and rescue techniques, as well as how to handle conditions that complicate rescue attempts.

You can expect 2 classroom periods and 2 pool sessions before the open water practical. CPR and First Aid training are the only prerequisites after your Open Water certification.

PADI Rescue Diver Course

I took my first CPR/First Aid and Oxygen Provider courses in Louisiana (2014) through the PADI shop I was certified through. I updated my courses in Brandon, Florida (2015), at Woods & Water. Now I’m planning on completing my EMT training this coming fall and I will be updating my certifications one more time.

I’m pretty stoked.. after finally returning to school and finishing my BS in Biology last summer, I began the job hunt and wasn’t satisfied with my career options. I have decided to go back to school. Again. Because being a student is also a career option, right?

I’m going back and I want to go to PA school. I am missing some health class prerequisites so I’ll be taking some more undergraduate courses before I apply. While I do that, I decided to complete my EMT training after speaking with an academic advisor about how to obtain the hands-on experience I will need before applying to the Master’s program. I feel really good about this decision and I believe this training will make me a safer and more valuable dive master, as well.

Jim’s Dive Shop in St. Petersburg, FL, is planning to hold an SSI Diver Stress and Rescue course soon (date TBA). I’m in touch with the CPR instructor at St. Petersburg College to complete the prerequisite training before the dive certification course. Comment below if you are interested in joining me. This is exciting for me, to refresh my training with our community divers, knowing it will also help me further my career as a diver and as a health care professional. Comment or email me at michelle@divebelle.com if you have any interest or input in CPR/First Aid and Stress and Rescue.

Leave a Reply

