event-planner

2017: Obligatory New Years Post

2017 is starting off with its best foot forward! The ball dropped at midnight at New Years Floorplay, a dance event in Orlando, FL. For those of you who don’t know, if I’m not with my dog or diving, I’m pretending to be a rockstar dancer.

west-coast-swing-dance

Next up is my first trip is mid January to Looe Key, at mile marker 27.5. We’ve got a big, fun group of people going with us and there’s a seafood festival in Key West on the menu. I’ll be sure to tell you all about it. Concluding January is my first 5K race.

2016 was an exciting year, with ups and downs but with a net positive gain. The year didn’t start off as well as 2017 has. I separated from my husband of a short-lived experiment in marriage, in February. I learned a lot about myself. I had a lot of time for self-reflection. I moved here a year before that with most of a Bachelor’s degree in Biology, and enrolled at a community college here taking business classes because I wanted to start a travel company. And I still do. Those classes were valuable, but after one semester I re-enrolled as a transient student and decided to stick with my path to a Biology degree. I worked from home as an event planner/Internet marketer. Also a valuable experience, and working from home was pretty sweet.

event-planner

I moved out of my apartment, starting working full time at the dive shop I’d been training at, and registered for the last two classes I needed to graduate. I finished my Dive Master certification and began organizing group dive trips. By July, I finished my degree and was diving about every other weekend. I’ve become fairly familiar with Key Largo.

SSI-dive-professional

I am very fortunate to have experienced as much diving as I have. I also started dancing again – it’s something I neglected during my marriage, and is something near and dear to me. As a closet introvert, having found something like West Coast Swing that I enjoy and can focus on improving in, to get me in front of people and meeting new people, it’s become a part of who I am. It directly competes with diving and I’m not sure this is a Highlander-There-can-only-be-one situation. The Westie force is strong in the Tampa Bay area. (Check out instructors Tommy and Renee and Hugo and Stacy).

2016 is also the first year Laika and I experienced paddle boarding. We are fans.

paddle-board-dog

I also held a marmoset for the first time.

marmoset

I spent the autumn working a lot on this blog and experimenting with underwater videos. As the year came to a close, I burned some bridges that needed burning, and turned my focus back to the people who deserve it, for whom I am grateful. I spent Christmas and New Years amongst friends. 2017 was welcomed with champagne and dancing. It would have only been more perfect in a wetsuit.

Not really. No one likes wetsuits.

I’m looking forward to a productive year. I am preparing for grad school and will be in the Keys in less than two weeks. I feel closer to my friends and family, and I feel like I have a plan. Today I have a meeting with an advisor at USF to lay the groundwork for a graduate school program. And I have a big ass Bucket List that is going to get some serious attention.

Let’s rock this, 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

